Connect with us


Independents knocked out of European Cricket League



Independents were representing Guernsey for a second successive year at the European Cricket League

Guernsey champions Independents have been knocked out of the European Cricket League after a dramatic 14-run loss to Austrian side Donaustadt

Batting first in the 10-over match Donaustadt made 147-4 as Baseer Khan hit 70 off 29 balls in Spain.

Indies pushed their opponents to the final two balls thanks to Tom Cheater, who hit 67 off 29 balls at the Catarma Oval.

But Indies could only reach 133-5 in their reply.

The loss in the qualifier came after a win in their opening knockout match over Estonian side Tallinn Stallions, having finished third in their five-team group.

They beat Tallinn and Isle of Man champions Crosby in the group stage on Wednesday having suffered losses to Spanish side Pak I Care Badalona and Donaustadt on Tuesday.

Channel Island rivals Old Victorians from Jersey have qualified for next week’s finals after winning their group last week.

Indies started the match against Donaustadt well as they reduced the Austrians to 23-2 off one-and-a-half overs, but Khan and captain Razmal Shigiwal had a 116-run stand that lasted eight overs before Khan was caught having smashed eight sixes and four fours.

Shigiwal was run out for 43 with the next ball as Donaustadt registered 147-4.

In reply, Hampshire academy player and opening batter Cheater – one of two wildcard players in the Indies side – inspired his side as he hit six sixes and four fours before his dismissal with the penultimate ball of the ninth over.

But his team-mates could not match him as Ollie Nightingale’s 22 not out and skipper Nathan Le Tissier’s 19 were the only other double-figure scores.

Earlier in the day Indies beat fourth-placed Tallinn Stallions by seven wickets in their eliminator match as Cheater smashed 110 off 33 balls, including 13 sixes.

Indies made 166-4 in 8.4 overs to successfully chase down a target of 163 – a record run chase in the European Cricket League.

Continue Reading