The batter was dismisse for handling the ball |Courtesy-screenegrab
Louis Kimber was dismissed in a bizarre manner
The batter stopped the ball from hitting the stumps with his hands
He was given out for ‘obstucting the field.’
In what will certainly go down as one of the most bizarre dismissals in cricket history, Louis Kimber was dismissed for handling the ball in a County Championship match between Gloucestershire and Leicestershire at the Bristol Cricket Ground.
Batting in Leicester’s first innings, Kimber was looking in good form, having rushed to a score of 34 in 66 balls. However, he had a moment of brainfade as, after defending the ball from an opposition spinner, he took the ball in his hands as the ball appeared to be rolling back towards the stumps.
The Gloucestershire players were quick to appeal, and after some discussions between the two umpires, he was given out. The dismissal was not awarded to the bowler’s name, as it went under the rare but age-old rule of ‘obstructing the fielder.’
What is ‘Obstructing the field’?
This rule is in place to essentially ensure that a batter cannot voluntarily stop the ball from hitting the stumps to prevent a bowled or run-out dismissal. One of the most famous examples of a player getting out this way was during an ODI between India and Pakistan in 2006, when then Men in Green skipper Inzamam-Ul-Haq stopped a throw from Suresh Raina with his bat from the middle of the pitch.
Here is What the MCC Law’s Cricket Rule Book Says About the Dismissal:
37.1.1 Either batter is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of 37.2, and while the ball is in play, he/she wilfully attempts to obstruct or distract the fielding side by word or action. See also Law 34 (Hit the ball twice).
37.1.2 The striker is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of 37.2, in the act of receiving a ball delivered by the bowler, he/she wilfully strikes the ball with a hand not holding the bat. This will apply whether it is the first strike or a second or subsequent strike. The act of receiving the ball shall extend both to playing at the ball and to striking the ball more than once in defence of his/her wicket.
37.1.3 This Law will apply whether or not No ball is called.