Connect with us


European Open 2024: Preview, field, betting, tee times, and how to watch the DP World Tour event



The European Open marks the halfway point in the DP World Tour calendar as the Race to Dubai continues in Hamburg.

Jump To: Race to Dubai Rankings

The DP World Tour makes the short trip from Belgium to Germany for the 41st running of the European Open, the second event of the European Swing, and the 22nd event of the 44 tournament season.

Originally played at various courses in England before moving across to Ireland’s K Club for 13 editions, then briefly back to London, the European Open has found its home in Germany for the past nine years.

The event has something for everyone with fans able to enjoy the views from the 40-metre-high Ferris Wheel behind the 18th green, and players a crack at the Porsche automobile up for grabs on the 17th hole as a reward for a hole-in-one.

Last time around, 20-year-old Tom McKibbin, who learned his trade at the same Holywood club as Rory McIlroy, registered a first DP World Tour title with a two-stroke victory over Frenchman Julien Guerrier and German duo Maximilian Kieffer and Marcel Siem.

Tom McKibbin won his first DP World Tour title at the European Open in 2023

Where is the European Open being played?

The European Open returns for the seventh year to the monstrously long Porsche North Course at Green Eagles Golf Courses in Hamburg, Germany. At 7,882 yards, the par-73 track is one of the longest tests in professional golf.

Germany’s national golf federation has rated the course as the most difficult in the country, not just due to its length, but the extremely undulating greens and water hazards that are in play on all but one of the holes.

The European Open has been played at Green Eagle in Hamburg since 2017

What format is the European Open?

The format of the European Open is a standard strokeplay event played over 72 holes with a cut after 36 holes (two rounds). The player who achieves the lowest score over four rounds will win the tournament.

Who is in the field for the European Open?

While the majority of the top 10 in the Race to Dubai Rankings won’t be present in Hamburg due to their duel-tour status, there is still a bunch of inform players competing for the European Open. Chasing down Rory McIlroy’s healthy lead will be the second and third-ranked players in Japan’s Rikuya Hoshino and Sweden’s Jesper Svensson respectively.

Elsewhere in the field Rasmus Hojgaard who narrowly missed out on a PGA Tour card at the back end of 2023 will tee it up, as will 2016 Masters Champion Danny Willett who made an impressive return to the hallowed Augusta turf in April. Tom McKibbin will be back in search of a second DP World Tour title at the site of his first 12 months ago.

The full field for the European Open can be found here.

Danny Willett made an impressive return to competition at Augusta

Who will win the European Open?

Selected odds can be found here once released.

Who are the previous winners of the European Open?

Here are the previous 10 winners of the European Open.

Year Winner Score Venue
2023 Tom McKibben -9 Green Eagle
2022 Kalle Samooja -6 Green Eagle
2021 Marcus Armitage -8 Green Eagle
2019 Paul Casey -14 Green Eagle
2018 Richard McEvoy -11 Green Eagle
2017 Jordan Smith -13 Green Eagle
2016 Alexander Levy -19 Bad Griesbach
2015 Thongchai Jaidee -17 Bad Griesbach
2009 Christian Cevaer -7 London
2008 Ross Fisher -20 London
*2020 – canceled due to COVID-19 pandemic; 2010-2014 – no tournament.

How much will the European Open winner receive?

The winner in Hamberg is set to receive $340,000 from the $2.5 million purse and 3,000 invaluable points in the Race to Dubai. The total payout is dwarfed however by almost four times the amount over on the PGA Tour this week with players competing for a cut of $9.4 million at the RBC Canadian Open.

Read how the prize money has evolved on the PGA Tour and see who tops the money lists.

Kalle Samooja won the 2022 European Open at Green Eagles

How to watch the European Open

UK viewers can watch the event on Sky Sports Golf.

Thursday 30 May: Sky Sports Golf, 12.00

Friday 31 May: Sky Sports Golf, 12.00

Saturday 01 June: Sky Sports Golf, 12.00

Sunday 02 June: Sky Sports Golf, 11.30

European Open: Tee times and groups

Tee times and groupings will be found here once available.

Race to Dubai Rankings (before the European Open)

Position Player Tournaments Points
1 Rory McIlroy 4 1,851.00
2 Rikuya Hoshino 10 1,258.10
3 Jesper Svensson 13 1,233.38
4 Tommy Fleetwood 4 1,232.93
5 Sebastian Soderberg 11 1,166.40
6 Joaquin Niemann 5 1,137.23
7 Ludvig Aberg 2 1,113.00
8 Adrian Meronk 6 1,023.40
9 Min Woo Lee 4 881.83
10 Zander Lombard 13 835.71
Rory McIlroy won the Race to Dubai for a fifth time and played a vital role in Europe's Ryder Cup win.

SUBSCRIBE TO TODAY’S GOLFER: Print and Digital access, discounts and rewards!

About the author

Ross Tugwood is a Golf Equipment Writer for Today's Golfer.

Ross Tugwood

Senior Digital Writer

Ross Tugwood is a Senior Digital Writer for, specializing in data, analytics, science, and innovation.

Ross is passionate about optimizing sports performance and has a decade of experience working with professional athletes and coaches for British Athletics, the UK Sports Institute, and Team GB.

He is an NCTJ-accredited journalist with post-graduate degrees in Performance Analysis and Sports Journalism, enabling him to critically analyze and review the latest golf equipment and technology to help you make better-informed buying decisions.

Continue Reading