Connect with us


All you wanted to know about the 2024 Laver Cup



The tournament was inspired by golf’s Ryder Cup and is named after Australian tennis legend Rod Laver.

Where will the 2024 Laver Cup be held?

The 2024 Laver Cup will be held in Berlin, Germany, between September 20 and 22.

Who will be in Team Europe for the 2024 Laver Cup?

Carlos Alcaraz was captain Bjorn Borg’s first pick for the 2024 Laver Cup and will make his debut in the competition. In February 2024, Alexander Zverev and Daniil Medvedev joined the team; both are previous champions.

Who will be in Team WORLD for the 2024 Laver Cup?

Captain John McEnroe has picked Australia’s Alex de Minaur and Americans Taylor Fritz and Tommy Paul as his first picks for Team World for the 2024 edition.

Who played at the 2023 Laver Cup?

Defending champion Team World consisted of:

  • Taylor Fritz
  • Tommy Paul
  • Ben Shelton
  • Felix Auger-Aliassime
  • Frances Tiafoe
  • Francisco Cerundolo

Team Europe consisted of:

  • Andrey Rublev
  • Casper Ruud
  • Hubert Hurkacz
  • Alejandro Davidovich Fokina
  • Gael Monfils
  • Arthur Fils

Where was the 2023 Laver Cup held?

The 2023 edition of the Laver Cup was held in Vancouver, Canada at the Rogers Arena. The previous editions have been held in the below cities:

  • 2017 (inaugural edition) – Prague, Czech Republic
  • 2018 – Chicago, United States
  • 2019 – Geneva, Switzerland
  • 2020 – not held due to coronavirus pandemic
  • 2021 – Boston, United States
  • 2022 – London, United Kingdom

Who won the 2023 Laver Cup?

Team World recorded a 13-2 victory to defend their Laver Cup title.

Ben Shelton and Frances Tiafoe, who each went 3-0 over the weekend, clinched the victory with a 7-6(4), 7-6(5) victory.

What is the format of the Laver Cup?

The tournament is played over three days with the first two days consisting of a day and a night session, and a day session on the third day. Four matches – three singles and a doubles match– are played each day. All matches are played in a best-of-three sets format with ad scoring. If the first two sets are tied, then the third is decided by a 10-point match tiebreaker.

Each win earns the team one point on Friday, two points on Saturday, and three points on Sunday. The first team to win 13 points (out of a total 24 points available) wins the trophy. If the points are tied at 12-12 at the end of all matches, a fifth match (the “Decider”) is played on the final day to determine the winner of the tournament.

Who came up with the concept for the Laver Cup?

The tournament is the brainchild of Roger Federer and his agent, Tony Godsick. The tournament is an ATP-sanctioned event.

The tournament is named after Rod Laver, one of the greatest players in the history of the sport. Laver. who hailed from Australia, is the only player in the history of the sport to win the calendar Grand Slam (all four majors in a single season) twice – in 1962 as an amateur and in 1969 as a pro.

Who selects the Laver Cup teams?

Three of the six players on each team qualify based on their ATP singles rankings as of the Monday after Roland-Garros in June, although if they do not wish to be selected, the captains will choose another high-ranked individual. The captains select the other three members of their team – the “captain’s picks” – to be made before the 2024 US Open.

Who are the champions of the previous editions of the Laver Cup?

So far the winners and scores have been:

  • 2017 – Team Europe defeated Team World 15–9
  • 2018 – Team Europe defeated Team World 13–8
  • 2019 – Team Europe defeated Team World 13−11
  • 2020 – Not played due to Coronavirus
  • 2021 – Team Europe defeated Team World 14-1
  • 2022 – Team World defeated Team Europe 13-8
  • 2023 – Team World defeated Team Europe 13-2

Was Roger Federer at the 2023 Laver Cup?

Roger Federer was at the 2023 Laver Cup. He retired at the 2022 edition, and marked the one-year anniversary since his step back from competitive tennis by appearing on the first day to make the draw for the last match.

He gave a 30-minute on-court interview with Jim Courier after Friday night’s final match.

Continue Reading